Back to All Events

333 Minutes of Bach— Master of the Banquet

  • St. Paul's German Lutheran Church 315 West 22nd Street New York, NY, 10011 United States (map)

6:00pm Part 1— Master of Keys
7:00pm Part 2— Master of Variation
8:00pm Part 3— Master of Dance
9:00pm Part 4— Master of Musical Debate
10:00pm Part 5— Master of Voices | Bach Trinity Cantatas I
11-11:33pm Part 6— Master of Transformation with the Rogerio Boccato Ensemble

This evening features 333 Minutes of Bach‘s music including keyboard works, concertos & cantatas, as well as original arrangements & compositions of composers who continue to draw inspiration from Bach, including Kurtag, Gleichauf, Sitkovetsky, & the Barkada Quartet. Composer Eric Nathan’s two suites for orchestra, Dancing with J.S. Bach I and II, will be given their NY Premiere and World Premiere performances, and the evening also features an original cadenza written by 2018 Composer-in-Residence Aaron Jay Kernis for the performance of Bach’s beloved Brandenburg Concerto No. 3. Festival favorite and master of percussion, Rogerio Boccato, rings out the night with his stellar ensemble and rhythms and their take on Bach.  

Tastings by Chef Eric Takahashi & Chef Daniela Gutstadt will be available for sale; one drink from Festival Bar included with each ticket


Bach Selected Two-Part Inventions & Three-Part Sinfonias
Rochberg “Nach Bach” for Harpsichord
Auznieks Pathmarks for solo piano
Bach/Kurtag Selected Chorales for four hands
Bach/Sitkovetsky Goldberg Variations for String Trio
Nathan Dancing With J.S. Bach I (2012), New York Premiere
Nathan Dancing with J.S. Bach II (2018), World Premiere
Bach “Triple” Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1044
Bach Double Violin Concerto in D Minor, BWV 1043
Bach/Kernis Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048
Bach Cantatas
Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 33
Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich, BWV 17

Ensemble-in-Residence | Barkada Quartet
Composers | Krists Auznieks, Aaron Jay Kernis, Eric Nathan
Soprano | Marisa Karchin
Tenor | Chris Sokolowski
Bass | Mark Uhlemann
Trumpet | Caleb Hudson
Flute | Kayla Burggraf
Oboe | Amanda Hardy, Catherine Weinfield
Bassoon | Jay Rauch
Violin | Nigel Armstrong, Elizabeth Beck, Nicholas DiEugenio, Chloe Fedor, Jonathan Ong, Evelyn Petcher, Dorothy Ro, Jocelyn Zhu
Viola | Will Frampton, Jeremy Kienbaum, Jesus Rodolfo Rodriguez, Abigail Rojansky
Cello | Jonathan Dormond, Christine Lamprea, Angela Lee, Joseph Lee
Double Bass | Mariya Andonova, Kaden Henderson, Luke Stence
Toy Piano, Harpsichord | Robert Fleitz
Piano | Robert Fleitz, Andrea Lam, Melinda Lee Masur
Chelsea Music Festival Chamber Choir & Festival Artists
Conductors | Ken-David Masur, Ronnie Oliver Jr.

Master of Transformation with the Rogerio Boccato Ensemble

Percussion & Compositions | Rogerio Boccato
Percussion | Keita Ogawa
Analog Synths & Vibes | James Shipp
Sound Design | Daniel Boccato